The Elder Gods, Keepin’ Me Busy

7 01 2010

IMG_1657[1]

Sometime last Spring my friend Josh asked me if I could make him a Cthulu. I of course gave him my typical answer of, some time before I die.  This past weekend when I saw him proved that he hadn’t forgotten the request.

IMG_1658[1]

Suddenly, I found myself inspired to get started. I think it turned out well. I am sad that I didn’t follow the links on the pattern’s site for the magic round or the invisible decreases. Very clever ideas. I used a size H hook instead of an F. I couldn’t figure out how to get the tiny hook to work correctly with the worsted weight yarn. Maybe I’ll try another one since I now know the magic of the magic round and invisible decreases.

IMG_1659[1]

The designer of this pattern mentions that the directions for the wings is somewhat confusing. However, the designer offers a visual representation of them, which helps a lot.  Over all, it was a super fun little crochet.  Also a super way to use up acrylic.

I also finished measuring and re-skeining the samples I spun up towards the end of last year. I heart my yard counter. Now if I could just figure out what to do with all the yarn in my growing stash.

IMG_1656[1]

I started plying my last spinning adventure. I enjoyed the Louet Northern Lights pencil roving immensely. It was super easy to spin, no predrafting at all. I’m plying it double ply from two bobbins. I do enjoy this method, although I am wondering if I should have used the Navajo ply in order to maintain the long color stripes in this roving.

IMG_1661[1]

I’ve decided I need to start a blanket soon, I think I have until April. I’d like to try the spiral looking drain blanket, but the first time I started it on the needle size suggested it felt extraordinarily stiff.

Those are the latest addition to my addiction family, Addi Clicks.  They are worth every penny.

IMG_1660[1]

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

